Useful Resources

Cape York Heads of Agreement

The Cape York Heads of Agreement is an agreement designed to ensure coexistence on Cape York and joint protection of the environment. This landmark agreement was first signed by the Cattlemen's Union (CU), the Wilderness Society (TWS), the Australian Conservation Foundation (ACF), the Cape York Land Council (CYLC) and the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peninsula Regional Council on the 5 February 1996. It is an agreement designed to protect cultural heritage and environmental values while also providing for greater certainty and more effective management of the pastoral industry. The original agreement was revisited in September 2001 and has seen the State of Queensland join the agreement. An important element of the agreement is to establish a mechanism, including a 'Ministerial Implementation Committee', that will translate long-held aspirations for Cape York Peninsula into action.

Agreements, Treaties and Negotiated Settlements Project